• Myoko Mountain Lodge
    1455–3 Ooaza Taguchi, Myoko-Shi Niigata–ken Japan 949–2106
  • +81 255 77 4093
 
 

Testimonials

 
  • “Great stay and wonderful hosts”

    We just completed a stay at Myoko Mountain Lodge for 5 nights in March 2017 – 2 adults and 2 children. The accommodation was excellent. We had a large family room consisting of a double, a single and 2 futons – all quality bedding. The lodge had a lovely spacious dining/lounge area with great views over the snow covered woodland surrounding the lodge. The stay was made particularly special by the hosts Michael (English) and Tamami (Japanese). As Tamami also spoke fluent English having lived in Australia for decades and worked for a travel company, she was a wealth of information regarding Japan travel as well as the local area. Michael and Tamami couldn’t do anymore to help us enjoy our stay. Michael picked us up from the station. They ferried us to/from the slopes, to/from restaurants, to/from ski rental, took us to, and participated in, two fantastic public onsens, went to dinner with us and Tamami prepared delicious western breakfasts for us each morning (included in accommodation). During our stay, our son chipped a tooth whilst skiing. Tamami not only organised an appointment with her dentist in a nearby town but took us all there, filled out the Japanese forms and interpreted Japanese/English during the appointment. She then took us to the train station as we were leaving that day. I thoroughly recommend this lodge and we definitely plan to return.

     
    Tasmania — March 2017
  • “Excellent Lodge”

    First time skiing in Japan and we couldn’t have had a better experience staying at Myoko Mountain Lodge. Tamami & Michael were fantastic hosts, always on hand for advice, local knowledge and a lift to the slopes. The Japanese style room was warm and comfy, food delicious and bath a godsend at the end of a long day skiing. The whole lodge felt homely and welcoming. Thanks TB & MB & mama-san!

     
    Samantha, — February 2017
  • Wonderful time at Myoko Mountain Lodge

    We had a wonderful time at Myoko Mountain Lodge. Rooms were so comfortable and relaxing. The food you served was so fantastic and I especially loved the shabu shabu (maybe one day I can get the recipe  for the broth!). Thank you for your kindness and hospitality and looking after myself and Lucien, it was above and beyond what was expected. The antibiotics worked and within a couple of days I was almost back to normal. I certainly am fully recovered now!

    We have been telling everyone we know what a great stay we had with you both. By far the best stay in Japan. So I am sure you will have some more business from this part of the world. We certainly plan to come back one day!

    Many thanks

    Hannah and Bruce
     
    Hannah and Bruce, New Zealand — January 2017
  • Amazing Accommodation and the BEST HOSTS!!”

    Tamami (TB) and Michael (MB) run the most amazing lodge in Myoko. Michael greeted us at the Myoko train station and drove us straight up to the lodge to settle in. Location is great, only a 15 minute walk into town to get some great food and hit the slopes. Michael does a shuttle up to the village so that you can start your morning on the fresh powder. The bathrooms are shared, but can be used privately and the hot baths are amazing after a long day on the slopes. We stayed in a twin shared western style room which was spacious, the beds were comfortable and the room had great views! TB cooks up a great breakfast each morning and if you have a chance to have dinner at the lodge she cooks up a great traditional meal! Would definitely stay here again. I’m already planning my next trip back!

     
    Laura Ann Wong, Melboune — December 2016
  • Highlight of our trip!”

    Myoko Lodge is amazing! If you are looking for a base to explore Japan this would be my pick. Our family of four, including two teenage boys, found things to do to keep us thoroughly entertained. If you are into snow sports Myoko mountain can accommodate beginners, snowboarders and even back-country skiers looking for a challenge. Don’t panic if you are not into snow! We found so much to do from here – just jump on the local train. Go to visit the snow monkeys in Nagano, photograph the Castle at Takada or visit the coast to see the Sea of Japan.
    Michael and Tamami were extremely friendly and welcoming and their lodge is immaculately clean and warm. They were always happy to assist and provide help when you are organising your activities and have great local connections and knowledge. Tamami’s breakfasts are a great way to start your day, no matter what you have planned. If you get a chance, book in for the delicious evening meals that Tamami and her Mum prepare. They are hearty and delicious and were a great way to get to know some of the other guests. At the end of each day we usually relaxed in the quiet of the Lodge’s onsen.

    We loved it here and felt extremely welcome.

     
    The Pockets, Australia — January 2017
  • “Myoko Magnificent “

    When you live overseas as I do with my family, holidays can be difficult as you can’t always return home to celebrate with family and friends.

    So you seek those opportunities to connect with people and places that make you feel like there is a community of people in the world who understand this and make you feel at home.

    Michael and Tamami (and Tamami’s mother) are such special people.

    My family has been living overseas for 7 years and this was hands down the best vacation we’ve had thanks to Michael and Tamami.

    Everything from the amazing special meals to the coziness and cleanliness of the rooms to the common area was amazing. The laid back atmosphere and great breakfasts were a huge plus.

    On New Year’s Eve, Tamami offered us a delicious make your own sushi!

    Their attention to detail added to the uniqueness of the experience. There is a nice heated ski room, and Michael connected us with local shops for rental and even the nearby onsens. (There is also a men’s/women’s hot tub in the lodge).

    If we can make it happen in the future we hope to make MML our home away from home for years to come.

    Thank you Myoko Mountain Lodge for the vacation of a lifetime.

     
    Johnson Family , Singapore — 05 January 2017
  • You Made our summer

    Dear Tamami san & Michael san,

    We had a truly great time at Myoko Mountain Lodge. Your hospitality and passion for your job is amazing. Thank you!

    Now we understand why every reviewer marks 5 points on Tripadvisor. You made our summer.

    Do hope to see you again. Take care!

     
    Yumi & family , Japan — 13 August 2016
  • One Night In Myoko

    With Rosemary Wren and Sarah Walter. Thank you so much for your generous hospitality. I can’t believe how much you helped us to squeeze in to our 1 night/2 day stay – everything from a beautiful waterfall, amazing food, a wild Onsen and a good night’s sleep on futons in your traditional tatami room. Thank you, thank you, thank you xxx
     
    Elizabeth Bannard, UK
  • Best Place in Myoko

    Our hosts Michael and Tamami were amazing, so welcoming and willing to help in whatever way possible.
    Nothing was ever a problem. The evening meals that Tamami cooked were amazing and was so nice to have western breakfast every morning. We will definitely be back.

     
    Erin McDougall, New Zealand — February 2016, travelled with friends
  • A wonderful relaxing and funny time

    Where do you start… picked up from the train station and driven to the lodge by the very entertaining Michael Bullock (MB) on arrival Tamami Bullock (TB) ushered us to our room and then a tour of the lodge. Our room was well appointed and warm with very comfortable beds and a great out look. Breakfast was excellent with a very hearty porridge, fresh cut fruit and then scrambled eggs, a great way to start the day skiing. We were able to purchase vouchers for ski tickets for the mountain from TB at a reduced price.
    Skiing was excellent with some wonderful powder and a large variety of runs and of course the very deep and very hot Japanese bath at the end of the day to relax those tired muscles. And our hosts were at all times helpful to ensure our stay was enjoyable.
    The only complaint was, I had to leave to go home.

     
    Paul Yonna, Australia — February 2016, travelled as a couple
  • A great stay experience at Myoko Mountain Lodge

    Michael and Tamami were extremely helpful. They picked us up from bus station and sent us to the ski lifts everyday. Way beyond call of duty, even offered to drop us off to Onsen and picked us up from Onsen. We were so glad to have a host like them! On our last leg of travel to Tokyo, They helped us to prebook our bus limo back to Haneda as it might be difficult us to get the entire brood up the bus as it’s the New Year season. We would recommend to stay with them anytime!

     
    Ralene Tan, Singapore — January 2016, travelled with family and friends
  • Wonderful start to our Japan trip!

    Michael and Tamami took great care of us, and made it feel like we were visiting old friends when we checked in and met them for the first time. They both speak great English for foreigners traveling to Japan, not to mention all the food Tamami made was awesome! From waiting at the train station for us to arrive late without phone service, to Tamami making my wife a laminated note in Japanese explaining her wheat allergy to show at restaurants for the rest of our trip. The lodge is very close and walkable from the Akakura resorts town, but located on a nice quiet side street.

     
    Mike & Cas Campanella, US — January 2016, travelled as a couple
  • One of the best ski holidays ever

    Our family has just stayed at Myoko Mountain Lodge for 2 weeks and had the the most pleasant stay thanks to the hosts Tamami and Michael. They could not have done more for us to make certain that we enjoyed our holiday. The lodge has been fully renovated and the rooms (individually heated), dining and lounge areas are extremely comfortable. It is close and convenient to the ski areas and thanks to Michael we could get skiing nice and early after a hardy breakfast. The in house traditional Japanese dinners cooked by Tamami were the best. The hot onsen baths in the lodge after skiing stopped the aching muscles. All in all, a great ski holiday. We are now ready to book the lodge for next season.

    Room Tip: There is a great choice of different style rooms and all individually heated.

     
    Allan Thomas, Australia — January 2016, travelled with family
  • Days of falling Down Mt Myoko

    How pleasant can falling down the various faces of Mt Myoko every day for over a week be? Depends on the company – MB and TB are the best so I am disappointed I can only give this 5 stars. When outside it’s a -10C blizzard and the icicles have names, indoors feels like home. The lodge has everything one could possibly require for a relaxing time and the surroundings: see for yourself! I’ll surely be back.

     
    Max Ford, — January 2016, travelled solo
  • Great Stay at Myoko Mountain Lodge

    We had a wonderful stay at the lodge with our family. Located in a picturesque street out of town, the lodge is homely and warm with exceptional hosts Michael and Tamami.
    Nothing was ever a problem for either of them – Michael drove us every where – picked us up from the station, drove us to and from the ski lifts, took us into town for dinner one night and dropped us to the station when we left. Tamami made delicious dinners, including Shabo- Shabo one night, and lovely hearty breakfasts (included). We stayed in the quad room which was roomy, warm and very comfortable. The bathroom facilities are shared but they are spotlessly clean and there is a wonderful hot Japanese bath to soak in after a day on the slopes to soothe the muscles. We would definitely stay again.

     
    Caroline Wilkinson, — December 2015, travelled with family
  • Love Myoko Mountain Lodge!

    Michael & Tamami (MB & TB) are amazing hosts! We were picked up from the train station which was very convenient. Upon arrival we were shown around the lodge and made to feel at home right away. The lodge is immaculately clean. Our room (Japanese room) was lovely. The aircon/heater was easy to use and the futon bed was very comfortable. I LOVED the bathroom! Japanese style shower with amazing filtered spa bath, which I used a lot! Tamami’s cooking was fantastic! We enjoyed western style breakfast at a time suited to us as discussed the night before, it was so tasty! At a reasonable extra charge, we were able to enjoy Shabu Shabu for dinner one night, accompanied by some delicious Saké! The lounge room/common room is warm and comfortable and easy to relax in, whether it be for an afternoon cuppa (coffee is gooood!) or casual beer. During our stay we checked out amazing local scenery at Imori pond, Nojiri Lake and we were able to enjoy one of the many local Onsen. Very much looking forward to our next stay at Myoko Mountain Lodge in winter, so we can enjoy the snow season! Could not ask for better hosts, super friendly, great sense of humour, so easy to make plans with!
    Highly recommend!!

     
    Haley, Australia — November 2015, travelled with friends
  • Calm, cosy and comfortable

    Stayed 3 nights at Myoko Mtn. lodge as part of a tour of Japan. The lodge is very comfortable, warm, clean, nicely furnished and in a great location. You can have the choice of a western style or Japanese style bedroom – both are lovely. Tamami and Michael are great hosts, have lots of info about the area and cook delicious breakfasts.
    They welcomed us into their home which is an oasis of calm after the big cities of Japan but still close to skiing/walking/onsens etc. Would definitely return on our next trip to Japan.

     
    Barbara Long, Australia — October 2015, travelled with friends
  • Happy Days at the Lodge

    Wonderful cultural experience staying at Myoko Mountain lodge for 3 nights mid October.
    Delightful hosts who treated us as family, sharing their passion for this beautiful area.
    Breakfast shared in the cosy family room, either Western or Japanese . I enjoyed sleeping in a delightful Japanese style room with a beautiful Autumn view. excellent amenities, large bathrooms with two onsens : what a delight to slip into these hot baths, particularly after a day of hiking or skiing. Fond memories of my time at Myoko.

     
    Shelly Browning, Australia — October 2015, travelled with friends
  • Wonderful autumn stay

    Tamami & Michael are welcoming and very helpful hosts. Both speak English, Tamami is fluent in Japanese. I was met at the train station; the location of the lodge is really beautiful. My room was warm & clean, the mattress was comfortable, and the spa bath was very relaxing. Breakfast was really good, the traditional Japanese meals at night were delicious and provided an opportunity to meet other guests in the living/dining area. I found the lodge had a peaceful atmosphere and spent 3 nights there enjoying the autumn colors.
    I enjoyed my stay so much I returned for another 2 nights at the end of my holiday in Japan, in mid-November! A charming, traditional lodge with modern facilities, providing a unique experience in the Japanese mountains. I’m so glad I stayed there!

     
    Erica Stevenson, — October 2015, travelled solo
 
 
Hide